Welcome to the History of Michigan's Beet Sugar Industry where you will discover the detailed history of many of the sugar companies that once dotted Michigan's landscape and of those that continue to add value to Michigan's economy. Much of the credit for what became one of Michigan's enduring industries is owed to Thomas Cranage who formed Michigan Sugar Company in 1898. Read his story and others in this blog.

Listing of Beet Sugar Factory Constructors

The following list depicts the city in which each beet factory was constructed, the name of the contractor and the name of the organization that ordered its construction.

City Constructor Owner

White Pigeon Unknown Samuel Chapin & Others
Essexville Frederick Wolf Michigan Sugar Company
Holland E. H. Dyer Holland Sugar Company
Kalamazoo Frederick Wolf Kalamazoo Beet Sugar Company
Rochester Frederick Wolf Detroit Sugar Company
Benton Harbor E.H. Dyer Wolverine Sugar Company
Essexville Kilby Mfg Bay City Sugar Company
Alma Kilby Mfg Alma Sugar Company
West Bay City Bartlett Hayward West Bay City Sugar Company
Caro A. Wernicke Peninsular Sugar Refining Company
Marine City A. W. Colwell Marine City Sugar Company
Salzburg Meinhausen Machinery German-American Beet Sugar Cooperative
Lansing Kilby Manufacturing Lansing Sugar Company
Saginaw Kilby Manufacturing Saginaw Sugar Company
Carrollton Kilby Manufacturing Valley Sugar Company
Mount Clemens Kilby Manufacturing Macomb Sugar Company
Croswell Dyer Company Sanilac Sugar Refining Company
Sebewaing Fuehrman and Hapke Sebewaing Sugar Refining Company
St.Louis National Construction Company, St. Louis Sugar Company
Menominee Kilby Manufacturing Menominee Sugar Company
Owosso Kilby Manufacturing Owosso Sugar Company
East Tawas Kilby Manufacturing Tawas Sugar Company
Blissfield Dyer Company Continental Sugar Company
Charlevoix Walburn-Swenson West Michigan Sugar Company
Mount Pleasant Henry Vallez Columbia Sugar Company